The earliest known graduate associated with India is Lockhart Gordon who graduated LLD in 1752.

If you are interested in attending any future events for alumni in Delhi, contact Alok for further information.

Alumni Contact

Alok Sharma 


Within the alumni community in India there is a well-established Glasgow alumni network; the Kolkata Auld Boys. The Auld Boys are a group of engineers who graduated from engineering colleges, including the University of Glasgow, in the 1950s. Study was under government scholarship, and they returned to help develop Kolkata and the West Bengal region.

Alumni Contact

Shamindra Nath Sengupta

Myanmar (Burma)

Currently we are in contact with a handful of graduates based in Myanmar. If you are not already in contact with Mr Aldrich he would be delighted to hear from any fellow alumni in the area.

Alumni Contact

Zaw Aung Yin


Did you know Merbai Ardesir Vakil was the first female Indian graduate of the University of Glasgow, graduating MB CM in 1897?

Information about Merbai and other Indian graduates can be found on the International Story website.

If you would like to connect with fellow UofG alumni in Mumbai please get in touch via


Alumni Contact

If you would like to connect with local alumni in Pakistan, please get in touch via

Sri Lanka

If you would like to connect with other alumni in Sri Lanka, or find out more information about the area from an alumnus, please contact Winston..

Alumni Contact

Winston Pathiraja (MBA (International) 1999)


Alumni Contact

The Bangaldesh Alumni Association have recently formed and plan on hosting regualrly meet ups in Dhaka. To connect with the group and to find out about their planned events you can join their Facebook group.

Alumni Association Committee

The Bangladesh Alumni Association has recently formed a new alumni Committee.

  • President: Dr Muhammad Faisol Chowdhury 
  • Secretary: Dr Md. Sadek Ferdous 
  • Treasurer: Mr Tasnim Alam

If you would like to get involved we would love to hear from you!

Alumni Contacts

Dr Muhammad Faisol Chowdhury, (PhD 2023)

Dr Md. Sadek Ferdous,