MoA signing with Peking University and Zhejiang University

Published: 1 May 2024

Professor Shaw, Head of Adam Smith Business School, makes successful first visit to China

Group photograph of Head of Adam Smith Business School and associates in China, signing a Memorandum of Agreement

As part of the School’s internationalisation development agenda, Professor Eleanor Shaw, Head of Adam Smith Business School, and Dr Xiang Li, Associate Director of Development and Regional Lead for East Asia, paid a visit to China in April 2024.

The purpose of the trip was to form a strategic alliance with top ranked higher education institutions such as Peking and Zhejiang University and explore new development opportunities.

China has been a strategic market for both the University and the Adam Smith Business School. As we settle into the post-pandemic period, the School is now looking to reengage with this important region and explore new development opportunities there. 

During the trip, Eleanor and Xiang engaged with various key stakeholders to progress the School’s strategic plans. This included:

  • signing two Memorandum of Agreements (MoAs) with Zhejiang University and Peking University on dual degree programmes and student exchange collaboration respectively,
  • discussing a new MoA with Zhejiang University,
  • and consolidating two formal arrangements with Shanghai University of Finance and Economics.

These meetings with our partners not only consolidated our existing collaborations, but also raised exciting new opportunities.

Head of Adam Smith Business School and associate from Zhejiang University standing for a photograph with a signed Memorandum of Agreement

The School is proud to extend its international networks to include prestigious higher education institutions in China. Zhejiang University is ranked 44th and Peking University 17th by the QS World Universities Ranking 2024. Shanghai University Finance and Economics is ranked top 2 in China for specialised finance and economics. 

Further information: 

First published: 1 May 2024

<< News