Research Visitors to Philosophy

The Department welcomes applications from scholars who wish to spend time here, for example during the summer or a sabbatical leave. We also consider applications from graduate students who would like to visit for some period of time. To apply, in the first instance, please e-mail the Philosophy staff member with whom you're most interested in working with a brief curriculum vitae and details of your research plans.

Thereafter applications can be made to the University to be a visiting researcher - please see application forms available on the School of Humanities' web page.

Some Funding Opportunities for visitors:

  • The Royal Society of Edinburgh International Exchanges:
    • Open Programme
    • Bilateral Programme
  • British Academy Visiting Scholarships
  • The Leverhulme Trust enables distinguished academics based overseas to spend between three and ten months inclusive at a UK university.

See also the College's Student Funding Page

Visiting staff

The Philosophy Subject has hosted the following visiting research staff:

  • July 2005 Richard Gray (Cardiff)
  • March–April 2009 Adriana Schetz (University of Szczecinski, Poland) on a grant from the Bednarowski Trust
  • March–April 2010 Maciej Witek (University of Zielona Gora, Poland) on a grant from the Bednarowski Trust
  • Spring semester 2011 Fabian Dorsch (University of Fribourg)
  • Spring semester 2011 Clare Batty (University of Kentucky)
  • March 2011 Sean Enda Power (University of Cork)
  • August 2011 Glen Pettigrove (University of Auckland) funded by a Marsden grant from the Royal Society of New Zealand
  • August–December 2012 Derek Brown (Brandon University, Canada), funded by a Royal Society of Edinburgh International Exchange Programme grant.
  • June–July 2013 Clare Batty (University of Kentucky)
  • 21 April–30 June 2014 Luca Barlassina (Ruhr-Universitat, Bochum)
  • 20 February–12 March 2015 Magdalena Balcerack Jackson (University of Miami)
  • 20 February–12 March 2015 Brendan Balcerack Jackson (University of Miami)
  • June 2015 Alex Miller (University of Otago)
  • December 2015–September 2016 Takuya Niikawa (Chiba University, Japan)
  • 4–14 July 2016 Clare Batty (University of Kentucky)
  • October 2016 Christoph Fehige (Saar­land Uni­ver­sity)
  • October 2016 Derek Brown (Brandon University)
  • June 2017 Alex Miller (University of Otago)
  • September 2017 - 2018 Robert Briscoe (Ohio University) as a Fulbright Visiting Professor
  • November 2017 - May 2018 Salim Hireche (University of Geneva), funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation
  • June 2018 Alex Miller (University of Otago)
  • June 2018 Bruno Whittle (Texas Tech University)
  • June 2019 Alex Miller (University of Otago)

Visiting students

The Centre for the Study of Perceptual Experiencehas also hosted the following graduate student visits:

  • November 2011 Błażej Skrzypulec (Jagiellonian University, Krakow, Poland)
  • October 2012 Mette Hansen (University of Bergen)
  • October–December 2012 Oscar Ralsmark (University of Lund)
  • February 2012–August 2013 and December 2013 Ariel Cecchi (University of Geneva)
  • October 2012–January 2013 Ana Monteiro (University of Santiago de Compostela)
  • May–August 2013 Mette Hansen (University of Bergen)
  • May–August 2013 Morten Nag Opsal (University of Bergen)
  • October 2013 Błażej Skrzypulec (Jagiellonian University, Krakow, Poland)
  • November 2013 Paweł Zięba (Jagiellonian University, Krakow, Poland)
  • February 2012–August 2013, December 2013 & May 2014 Ariel Cecchi (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
  • May 2014 Daniel Gregory (Australian National University)
  • September–December 2014 Mika Suojanen (University of Turku)
  • November–December 2015 Marta Benenti (University of Turin)
  • February–June 2016 Geraldine Carranante (Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris)
  • March 2016–Febraury 2017 Thomas Park (Seoul National University, Seoul)
  • January–May 2017 Andrea Togni (University of Turin)
  • February - March 2019 Veronica Valle (University of Macau)
  • October 2019 – January 2020 Lidoly Chavez Guerra (University of McGill)
  • November 2019 – January 2020 Ines Hipolito (University of Wollongong)