Contact us

Central & Eastern European Studies

Head of Subject

Professor Clare McManus 

Deputy Head of Subject

Professor Luca Anceschi

Subject Support


Level 1  

1A Convenor: Dr Corina Snitar

1B Convenor: Dr Michael Loader 

Learning and Teaching AdministratorPaula McGown

Level 2

2A Convenor: Dr Taras Fedirko

2B ConvenorDr Sara Bernard

Learning and Teaching AdministratorAshley Dunsmuir


Teaching and Learning Director
and Honours Convenor
Dr Vladimir Unkovski-Korica
Learning and Teaching AdministratorOlive Bredin

Postgraduate Taught 

Convenor: Dr Federica Prina 
Clair Clarke

Postgraduate Research 

Convenor: Dr Zsuzsanna Varga

AdministratorLucy Brown 

Study Abroad Co-ordinator

Dr Zsuzsanna Varga/
Dr Vladimir Unkovski-Korica

Research Champion

Professor David Smith 

Seminar Programme Convenor

Dr Sara Bernard

CEES Events & Seminars

Economic & Social History

Head of Subject

Dr Rosemary Elliot

Subject Support 

Suzanne Hendry

Level 1


1A Convenor: Dr Hannah-Louise Clark

1B Convenor: Professor Ray Stokes

Learning and Teaching Administrator: Paula.McGowan

Level 2

2A Convenor: Dr Angus Ferguson
2B Convenor: Dr Angus Ferguson

Learning and Teaching Administrator: Suzanne Hendry

Level 3

Convenor: Dr Jeffrey Meek
Learning and Teaching Administrator:
Suzanne Hendry


Convenor: Dr Helen Yaffe
Exams Officer: Dr Sean Vanatta
Learning and Teaching Administrator: Suzanne Hendry

Postgraduate Taught
Programme Convenors

Global Economy: Professor Jeffrey Fear
Global Security: Dr Adrian Florea

Postgraduate Taught
Programme Administrators

Global Economy: Jennifer McLaren
Global Security: Molly McQueen
Global Health: Liz Gray


Postgraduate Research 

Convenor: Professor Neil Rollings

Administrator: Lucy Brown 

Study Abroad Co-ordinator


Research Champion

Professor Jim Tomlinson

Seminar Programme Convenor

Dr Ewan Gibbs

ESH Events & Seminars


Politics & International Relations

Head of Subject

Professor Mo Hume

Deputy Head of Subject

Professor Georgios Karyotis

Subject Support

Margaret Murray

Level 1

1A ConvenorProfessor Christopher Carman and Dr Robert Liñeira 
1B ConvenorDr Andrew Judge and Dr Sophia Dingli

Learning and Teaching AdministratorKaren Masterson

Level 2

2A Convenor: Karen Wright
2B Convenor:
Professor Kelly Kollman
Learning and Teaching Administrator: 


Convenor: Dr Sophia Dingli 

Learning and Teaching Administrator: Margaret Murray

Postgraduate Taught 

Convenor MSc/MRes Human Rights: Dr Katherine Alison
Convenor MSc/MRes International Relations: 
Dr Ian Paterson
Convenor MSc/MRes Political Communication: Dr Patricia Rossini

Administrator: Maria MacCaskill

Postgraduate Research 

ConvenorDr Patrick Shea
Lucy Brown

 Study Abroad Co-ordinator

Dr Allan Gillies (Outgoing)

Dr Maha Rafi Atal (Incoming) 

Research Champion

Professor Sergi Pardos-Prado

Seminar Programme Convenor

Dr Patricia Rossini

Politics Events & Seminars



Head of Subject

Professor Les Back

Subject Support

Olive Bredin

Level 1

Convenor: Professor Andy Smith
Learning and Teaching Administrator: 
Olive Bredin

Level 2

Convenor: Dr Diego Maria Malara
Learning and Teaching Administrator: 
Clare Robertson


Convenor: Dr Teresa Piacentini/Dr Matt Dawson (Semester 1)/Dr Matt Dawson (Semester 2)
Dissertation Convenor: Dr Nicky Burns
Assessment Officer: Dr Oona Brooks-Hay (Semester 1)/Dr Kirsteen Paton (Semester 2)

General Paper Convenor: Professor Gerda Reith

Learning and Teaching Administrator : Lesley Scott

Postgraduate Taught

Sociology MSc and Equality & Human Rights MSc and MRes Programmes Convenor: Dr Francesca Scrinzi

Criminology PGT Programmes Convenor: Dr Julie Berg and Dr Emiline Smith

Media, Communications & International 
Journalism Programme Convenor: Dr Hayes Mabweazara 

Global Health MSc Convenor:  Dr Cindy Gray

Global Migrations & Social 
Justice Convenor: Dr Francesca StellaDigital Societies Convenor: Dr Greti-lulia Ivana and Elisabetta Ferrari

Sociology Dissertations Convenor: Dr Matthew Waites

Criminology Dissertation Convenor: Dr Caitlin Gormley

Sociology PGT Administrator: Liz Gray

Criminology PGT Administrator: Jennifer McLaren

Postgraduate Research

Sociology Applications: Dr Greti-lulia Ivana 

Criminology ApplicationsDr Caitlin Gormley

Current Sociology PhD Researchers: Dr Gareth Mulvey

Current Criminology PhD Researchers: Professor: Dr Marguerite Schinkel

Administrator: Lucy Brown 

Study Abroad Co-ordinator

Dr Lucy Pickering

Research Champion

Research ConvenorProfessor Bridgette Wessels

Head of REF Planning Group: Professor Michele Burman

Subject Impact Champion:    Professor Fergus MacNeill

ESRC Pathway Representatives

Sociology (also pathway convenor): Professor Andy Smith

Socio-Legal Studies & Criminology: Professor Fergus McNeill (Semester 1)/Dr Oona Brooks-Hay (Semester 2)

Families, Relationships & Demographic ChangeDr Stephanie Chambers

Seminar Series Convenor

Dr Alicia Davis

Sociology Events & Seminars

Staff/Student Committee Chair

Course Convenors

Open Day Convenor


Library Committee Representative

 Dr Giovanni Picker (Semester 1)/ TBC (Semester 2)

School Learning and Teaching Committee Representative

Dr Teresa Piacentini (Semester 1)/Dr Catherine Happer (Semester 2)

Sociology Learning & Teaching Group Convenor

Dr Teresa Piacentini (Semester 1)/ Dr Dominic Pasura (Semester 2)


Research Centre / Network Directors

Scottish Centre for Crime and Justice Research: Dr Ali Fraser

Strathclyde Centre for Disability Research Professor Nicholas Watson

Centre for Research on Racism, Ethnicity and Nationalism: Professor Satnam Virdee

Glasgow Media Group: Professor Gregory Philo

Gambling Research Group: Professor Gerda Reith

Glasgow Human Rights Network: Dr Matthew Waites

Glasgow Refugee, Migration and Asylum Network: Dr Teresa Piacentini

Glasgow Quantitative Methods Group: Professor Mark Tranmer

Digital Societies Research Group: Professor Bridgette Wessels

Glasgow Sociology website & Twitter Feed

Dr Minna Liinpaa

Urban Studies

Head of Subject


Professor Simon Joss

Teaching and Learning Director


Dr Philip O’Brien

UG Convenor/Programme Director of Social and Public Policy


Dr Graeme Young

Level 1 


1A Convenor: Dr Charlotte Pearson
1B Convenors:
Prof Annette Hastings and Prof Keith Kintrea

Learning and Teaching Administrator: Tilly Dunnachie

Level 2 


2A Convenor: Prof Susan Deeley

2B Convenor

Learning and Teaching Administrator: Susanna Oelschlagel



Convenor: Prof Mark Stephens
Learning and Teaching Administrator: 
Susanna Oelschlagel

Undergraduate Nankai


Dr Andrew Hoolachan

Study Abroad Co-ordinator


Dr Penelope Laycock

Postgraduate Taught (PGT)


Programme Convenors

City Planning: Dr Alison McCandlish 
City Planning Development & Real Estate: Dr Alison McCandlish 

Real Estate: Dr Tunbosun Oyedokun

Urban Analytics: Dr Qunshan Zhao

Urban Transport: Dr Mark Livingston

Public Policy and Management: Dr Madhu Satsangi 

Public Policy Research (MRes): Dr Anna Gawlewicz

MRes Convenor: 

MSc Nankai Convenor: 

Housing Studies PGT Administrator: David Donaldson

REPR PGT Administrator: Lesley Flynn 

Public Policy PGT Administrator: Fiona Prior 

Postgraduate Research (PGR)


Convenor: Prof. Harriet Thomson
Lucy Brown 



Research Director: Professor Ade Kearns/Professor Sharon Wright

Impact Champion: Professor Keith Kintrea/Professor Sharon Wright

Seminar Series Convenor



Please see Urban Studies Events & Seminars for more info.

Urban Studies on Twitter


@UofGUrbanStudies and @UofGSPP